Delta suspends code-sharing with Russia’s Aeroflot.

ATLANTA – Delta Air Lines has suspended cooperation with Russia’s national airline Aeroflot following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine – and some Baltic and European countries have announced the closure of their airspace to Russian carriers.

The Atlanta-based Delta said on Friday that its decision would halt a code-sharing system that allows Delta and Aeroflot customers to book flights on both airlines.

“We removed our code from Aeroflot’s services outside Moscow’s Sheremetyevo Airport and removed Aeroflot’s code from Delta’s services from Los Angeles and New York-JFK. For customers affected by these changes, accommodation will be arranged, ”Delta said in a statement, adding that it does not operate flights to Ukraine and Russia.

The suspension of code-sharing came after the UK banned Aeroflot from flying to the country on Thursday.

Aeroflot did not immediately respond on Saturday to an email requesting comments, which was sent to the communications department.


On Saturday, the Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania said they would close their airspace to Russian airlines. Slovenia and the Czech Republic also did so due to the invasion of Ukraine.

Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kalas wrote on Twitter that Western countries should economically and politically isolate Russia, saying that “in a democratic sky there is no place for the planes of the aggressor state.”

The Slovenian government has stated that its ban applies to all aircraft registered in Russia and operators based in Russia and licensed by the competent Russian authority.

The Czech Republic’s decision means that the country is “stepping up measures against Russian aggression in Ukraine,” said Czech Transport Minister Martin Kupka.

Copyright 2022 . All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed without permission.

Source link

USA News